May is National Foster Care Month, a month set aside to recognize foster parents, family members, volunteers, mentors, policymakers, child welfare professionals, and other members of the community who help children and youth in foster care find permanent homes and connections. During National Foster Care Month, people join in renewing our commitment to ensure a bright future for the over 400,000 children and youth in foster care, and we celebrate all those who make a meaningful difference in their lives.

Image result for national foster care month 2017

It’s so very important to join in supporting the youth and even teens who are in Foster Care. Many of them have family members who are not able to take care of them, and that alone is a struggle for a child. Family means everything to youth who end up in this system, and it’s difficult at times for them to cope with the process of being sent away to a home to dwell with people they do not know.

Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, child

I grew up in and out of Foster care as a child and even in my teen years. It was a very difficult experience. As a teenager it was very hard to attach myself with strangers and it created anger within me because I simply wanted to just have a stable home with my real family. I felt so lost and I went through a phase where I felt I was not loved or wanted by anyone. I’m so grateful that I had a Foster family that was spiritually grounded to take me in and show me the true love of God. They helped restore my self esteem and made me feel wanted and part of their family.

Kids that go through Foster Care often feel as if they are not wanted or loved. They feel rejected and as if they are not worthy of being here. Many are suicidal and many find themselves involved in substance abuse to help them cope with how they feel. This is why its so very important for them to dwell in the homes of people who can show them true love and remind them that they are worthy of love.

Image result for national foster care month 2017Image result for national foster care month 2017

So be sure to get in touch with your local Child Services office to see how you can help make a difference in a child’s life!

