photo-8
Nikko London

Londell Smith (41) better known by his stage name Nikko London, is known for his music as well as grand appearance on VH1’s reality show Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta. The artist is known virally for a tape that happened to leak back in 2014 with another Reality Star, Mimi Faust.

After all of the commotion from the show and appearances on other shows such as Marriage Boot camp, the artist has a story for us all.

London recently teamed up with published Author Mya Kay to write his new book titled, “Sex, Entertainment & Lies”. The book is going to be a “tell all” book about the struggles of Nikko London within the Entertainment Industry, secrets shared and how he got to where he is now.

Nikko London encountered a lot of hate behind his appearance on the Reality TV Show, Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta.

Queen Dynasty was able to sit down with Nikko London in a recent interview to get some facts about his life after the show and to discuss his new book.

So what led Nikko to the idea for writing a book?

 “I felt like people needed to know more about me, I’m a question mark to so many. The idea of me writing this book was to give people a better understanding of me. I also wanted people to have a part of me forever; this is something that’s going to live on. This is literally two decades of me in this book and this is what shaped me into who I am today”.

We all are curious to know what we can learn from his book and London as well as Author Mya chimed in to share a brief highlight of the book.

“The book is about, “Sex Entertainment & Lies” to sum it up. There was the celebrity woman that I fooled around with, the griminess of the entertainment business and the lies I told. Let me add, also the lies that were told on me as well. This book contains two decades of my survival and hustle. ‘Mya Kay’ added that they will also get to see the musician side.  You’re going to get a man in this book who had 4 major record deals that people didn’t even know about.  For a show to be called Love & Hip Hop, and not highlight the Hip Hop part of him was unusual. He had value before the show.”

It’s truly difficult for any one person to experience everything that London did after being on Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta, while maintaining a productive career. The star shared with us what life had been like for him after the show.

“Man, how can I sum this up?! Life after Love & Hip Hop has been a rollercoaster. It’s like a love & hate relationship with people I don’t even know. They only know me from the show but it’s taken me down some rough roads trying to make money, secure branding deals and walk through’s with promoters. It’s been a

 

 

challenge and it hasn’t been an easy road, but I’m still out here hustling & doing what I got to do. They don’t really hate me ….just what they saw on the show.”     

 

If you follow Nikko London on Instagram then you can definitely get a taste of what he has been busy working on. London has shared some excellent videos of his fitness training and spoke to us about the program and other projects.

“Currently I’m launching an online fitness company called ‘Zeek Pack’. It focuses on teaching people body weight training and how to use their own body weight to gain maximum results and look their best. The system also comes with a nutrition plan. It’s a lifestyle journey to health and fitness. I also have my music, and a single coming out called ‘No Hold Back’. I have an EP coming out as well but it’s currently untitled. The single is out right now and honestly I’m excited about that.”

 

Besides posting amazing fitness videos, advice and working on his music, we were interested in his experience on the Reality Show Marriage Boot Camp. The show allowed viewers the chance to get to know more about Nikko London & his relationship with Margo.

“The Marriage Boot camp was fun and honestly speaking, it was laidback and I really got a chance to know myself. I experienced a lot on that show but was also able to build a bridge again with me and Margo as friends and get that understanding back because we had been so distant for like four years. The show kind of broke that in half and I kind of rekindled some of the beginnings from which we knew each other from and shared together. I learned also how to trust again, forgive and many other things. I left the show with a big win. I actually learned a lot, it seemed like a funny show but I can honestly say as an adult that you can learn something from it.”

 

Nikko London’s book is labels him as “Most Hated Reality TV Star” and we wanted to hear in his opinion why he felt that the public hated him so much.

“What’s funny is that I feel like people don’t like anything they don’t know. So do I really think people hate me? Maybe because of the hype of the show. Too much of anything to me would allow the public to have a bad taste in their mouth anyways. When people allow themselves to look at TV and allow TV to become their voice that’s when to me…you’ve ate too much of the cake! These reality shows are meant to entertain, not to confine a use of hatred. I think most people who watch Reality TV, they get the entertainment from it and then it turns into

 

 

hatred because you eat too much of it. Too much of anything will allow you to have emotions and feelings about it.”

 

The biggest issue they Nikko encountered happened behind the release of a tape with another Reality Star, Mimi Faust. The huge drama behind that allowed many viewers to develop their own personal thoughts about London. We wanted to know if Nikko regretted what happened with the whole tape issue on the show.

“Do I regret it? That’s a good question. Well first they have to read the book because that’s in there, but what I got to say on that is that I don’t regret my decision. I regret the way it was played out. As a man who stands as his own leader, I made a decision that I have to live with. For the rest of my life this is something that I have to live with and the way it played out was out of my control and I took the hit for a tape that was supposedly being leaked by Mimi. All along I was thinking that my codefendant which was Mimi had my back! That’s the regret; thinking that I could trust her, but the truth always comes to the surface. She had to confess her wrongs anyway so it’s like why go through all of that and not stick to the plan that we had as being codefendants after knowing what we created and what we talked about.”

“I knew I was going to take the hit as a man because I told you as a woman (Mimi) that you have a daughter so you can’t take the hit. So let me say the tape was in my bag and that way it will take the heat off of you having a daughter. That was the agreement that me and her had and that’s what we went to VH1 with. We were supposed to have stuck to that script but we didn’t. I mean I stuck to the script because I’m the one that got ridiculed. I’m the one who got most hated man in Reality TV!  I’m the one that got all the backlash of leaking the tapes. That’s kind of what I regret. The money was coming for the tape and she shifted with me and things went from a power couple to things being separate. It was supposed to be a together thing but it went separate. The money issue off of the tape is what caused things to go left.”

Since the big confusion hit the television airways and radio stations, London stated that he and Mimi Faust have not spoken since in nearly two years. I believe we all can relate to him with just letting that situation kick rocks!

London shared with us that all of that was just the making of a great book that would tell a story of his life that needed to be shared. Nikko added that the experience with the show made the book easier to write and not as difficult to put together for the public.

“It wasn’t difficult at all, in fact the show made it easier for me to write the book, ‘Sex Entertainment & Lies’. The fabric of my life is definitely in this book! What I don’t have to do is lie anymore. All I had to do was just think back and the way the book is broke down made it easier for me to filter it all out. It took me a while to write the book at first because I had no structure and then Mya Kay came along and helped break it all down. It then made more sense. She put structure into the book and it’s a lot of good stuff in here.”

 

So what exactly is next for Nikko London?

“It’s pretty simple for me to continue to just grow as a lifestyle brand. I’m not out here trying to push myself on anyone. I just want people to understand my journey and be inspired by it. It’s all in the book and it’s so much that you will be like wow! This book is really Ooohs & Ahhhs. Me & Mya came out with a home run on this book!”

 

The pre orders for the book will be available in December but the book will be released in April 2017. The date has not been set yet. Readers can definitely get ready to discover more information about Nikko London and hopefully reset the bad images that many gained form watching him on Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta.

I feel the world needs to hear his story so I await the release of this book. I hope to join in on knowing about the life media neglected us of seeing about Nikko London. This is going to be a juicy book for all readers to add to their “To Buy List” for next year!

 

Written & Interviewed By: Tanisha D Davis

