unnamed

Author Mya Kay is a successful published author straight out of Philadelphia. Mya first pursued her dreams towards a career in film and television. Shortly thereafter, she was led by God to teach overseas. Her commitment to follow the vision placed within, soon lead to the successful June 2012 publication of her first book, Speechless: Short Stories. The blessings did not stop there as she later befriended award winning actress Terri J. Vaughn of the Steve Harvey Show. Vaughn was so impressed with Mya’s writing, she gave her the first book review and provided the venue for her first book signing!

So how did the talented author team up with Reality TV Star Nikko London of Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta?

Kay stated,

“I have a publishing deal with The TMG Firm in New York and SD Green called me about working with Nikko.  We have an amazing publisher, SD is a really humble guy who just makes things happen! He just called me up and asked me if I was interested.”

 

It’s not every day you get a call with the opportunity to work with a celebrity on a book about their life. That’s what makes her life story so amazing. She has been faithfully in pursuit of what God has placed in her heart and the path for her just keeps growing.

In order to be successful with anything that you do, one must have the ability to produce great content for the readers. We asked Mya what she believes really helps her write a great book that translates to readers across any demographic.

Truth! There has to be some transparency and ambiguity. You can’t give everything away, but there has to be some truth. I believe that’s what makes a great book. Even in Fiction, which is what I write; readers need to be able to relate and see the truth in the storyline. That’s the foundation, being able to relate and empathize with the content on the pages. That way, they’ll have the ability to revert back to it again and again.”

You definitely have to deliver some form of truth when it comes to writing a successful book. Many readers such as myself like the idea of being able to find themselves in a book just as Mya stated. When readers can discover the truth in a book, then it’s a definite share to others who can relate to the story as well. With Nikko London releasing such a dynamic source of information about his life, we wanted to know how Mya felt her fans might relate to the book.

“For the ones who will read it, I think they will gain a perspective at how I can adjust from writing Fiction to Non-fiction. I feel the message in the story displays there is a great writer behind the story being told. With Nikko’s book, I further believe I’ve proven my versatile style of writing as a great story teller. Also, the readers will get a glimpse and understanding of who he is as a person beyond the image on television”.

For those that were tuned in to VH1’s Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta Season 2, we all remember some ill displays of Nikko London’s character. Mya Kay and Nikko London will provide us with a view of him in a different light and understanding the truth behind why some situations were left in the dark. Nikko London’s book is titled, S.E.A.L.: Sex, Entertainment & Lies, which independently states the two have collaborated on a project to give us the entire true story. It further states, this book will reveal the premise behind the unfavorable images perpetuated on the show. Even more, this story will also take us down a road to recognizing who Nikko London is and the struggles he has experienced that delivered him where he is today. Mya Kay has done an excellent job in pulling out the side of a man that remained behind a brick wall to protect his vulnerability.

We asked Mya Kay what she enjoyed most about working on the book with Nikko London.

 

 

“Making him become vulnerable….I appreciated how he allowed me to pull out his deepest secrets. Typically, men have up walls up and it’s often difficult to get them to divulge certain details of their story. I wanted to make sure he understood we needed to go beyond the three seasons of Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta because that’s all we know about him. What I enjoyed most was being able to write a quality 60,000 word book. That takes a lot of work…that takes a lot of questions and a lot of information! As my first collaboration, I was blessed to have partnered with someone who has already made a name for himself. This was not an easy task. Mostly, because he lives in LA and I live in in Philly, so we had to work within the difference in time zones.”

The grind doesn’t stop there for Mya Kay!

Besides putting in work on a book with Nikko London, Mya has also been busy creating another soon to be hot seller!

“I am working on a collaboration with a celebrity mom. There’s also The Clover Chronicles: Battling Brelyn, which is very important to me. It’s my first book in a young adult series and I describe it as Empire meets 7th Heaven. It’s about a teen girl with lupus who meets a paralytic athlete. Here you have the dynamics of a boy who can’t feel pain and a young girl who complains about feeling pain. It’s like a parallel world, except her family is rich. Her body is now in control of her destiny, so you’re going to experience the entire journey. You’ll soon see how she uses her faith to overcome her fear of dying. I think the world has a focus on cancer. Sadly, there are many young African Americans with the almost hidden disease lupus, that are dying each day. I intend on highlighting the disease and I’m really excited about The Clover Chronicles: Battling Brelyn because there will be at least 3 or 4 books in the series.”

 

 

 

Every writer has a starting point and it’s often not where we all planned to begin. However, those instances can lead us to our gift. So, how did Mya get her leverage from being a writer to becoming a published author?

Mya states,

“I studied Journalism at Temple University and then I continued to Arcadia University for a Masters in Creative Writing. I was drawn to writing for children plays and it changed my life. I initially began as a Pre-Med major when I was an undergrad. When I decided to transition from a “guaranteed field” to an “artistic field”, I knew if I was going to do it I had to be all in. After I obtained my Masters, I later moved to Atlanta. While there I was pursuing my screen writing career and I wrote a book of short stories. That’s where it all began and it continued from there. A small short book called “Speechless” simply took me there.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s always great to hear how writers such as Mya Kay began their start into the amazing field of writing. So many begin their pursuit into this field, but along the way tend to give up. We asked Mya what motivation she would give to those writers looking to be successful in the Literary industry.

Mya responded,

Write!

“It’s heartbreaking when I meet people who say they’re writers and fail to work at their craft. You should be doing something every day that involves writing. You could be studying a book about the craft or working on your grammar. I still go back and read Stomps Book on grammar because as a writer you never stop learning. As a screenwriter, I’m reading scripts all the time. You have to keep up with your craft. That is my sincerest advice. You have to read just as much as you write. Don’t concern and overwhelm yourself with being published. You may never get the big figure advance from a major publishing house, but you have to keep writing. It took me eight books before New York came knocking at my door. I had already received around eighty rejections from agencies in New York. If I had given up, I would have never been connected with SD and now have one of the best publishing deals you could ever imagine.”

Very powerful words of advice given straight forward from a talented writer who knows what it takes to be successful. How can you get ahead if you never work on perfecting your craft?! Besides delivering motivational speeches and attending event forums, we can definitely look forward to a lot more in the upcoming year from Author Mya Kay.

So what’s going on?

“To have three books being released on April 4, 2017 is probably historical. I don’t know anyone else who has done that. I’m really thankful and in another month or so we can discuss the third book. I have a lot of great speaking engagements going on. I’m also helping with building up African American Literature. My mom always had me at the library on Saturdays. Unfortunately, today kids do not have that option in many places. I want my fans to be supportive of the literature I write. I feel it’s important that kids have many things to inspire them. Not limited to only what they see on a daily basis.”

This is truly inspiring to hear from Mya because you seldomly hear authors concerned about the young readers of their literature. There are so many writers just interested in writing a bestselling book and without a care for the children. Writers with the mindset of Mya Kay are definitely ones you want to follow and most importantly, support!

Author Mya Kay went on to tell us what she enjoys most about writing.

 “The reaction…being able to connect with people who you’ve never met, but can say you wrote the book for them. Even with Fiction, just hearing people say they’ve been touched by your book is heartwarming. There’s nothing more powerful than the written word!”

There is truly nothing more powerful than the written word because what you write becomes your legacy. It is something that will live on forever. We are so excited for Author Mya Kay and the many blessings that are flowing her way as she prepares for a triple book release next year! Working with celebrities like Nikko London and more is definitely the right start to an amazing year.

Mya Kay’s new releases will be everywhere books are sold on April 4, 2017. So, get ready to join in this historical move of God and get your copies!

You can go now to www.writermya.com to sign up for her email list and be the first to receive a pre-order link. Readers will also be able to get a copy of her first two books, ‘Speechless’ and ‘Butterfly Faith’.

Be sure to keep up with Author Mya Kay on social media by following her on Instagram and Twitter (@writermya).

 

 

